Penny for your thoughts: The Great Gatsby

photo

After almost eight years I find my self coming to the end of a season and starting the beginning of a new one.

I was walking along a road I had walked so many times in the last eight  years, a road that had before been an escape, a road that I had lived off, a road which I had known and had known me but somehow it felt different…the sun shone brightly (and about time that you made an appearance sun!) As I walked, in the sun,  I read. From experience I have learnt that reading and walking can be a dangerous affair…It is an art to avoid lamp posts, pedestrians, prams and dog poop. I don’t want to sound smug but I pretty much nailed it.

”And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees … I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer.” F. Scott Fitzgerald

Sometimes it happens like this. That there is a book, poem, song that you have read or heard a thousand times and the words that you have seen, known & missed jump out at you and describe for you feelings, hopes or dreams that you may not have even known how to articulate. This has happened to me, today in the sun.

Cheesy but true.

P.S. I can’t wait for Baz Luhrmann’s film of this book, ‘The Great Gatsby’ to come out and blow my mind.

F. Scott Fitgerald and Baz Luhrmann in my mind only a winning combination!

Happy Thursday/Friday morning

xx Celeste 

Leave a comment

Filed under Celeste, Penny for your thoughts..

Leave a Reply

