Penny for your thoughts: Goodbye 2012. Hello 2013.

photo

I have been thinking, as you do at this time of year, on the year that has passed. The things done and left undone. Taking stock of the things I am grateful for, the things that have disappointed and the things that make me excited for the new year. 

November 17th, 2012 saw me return to my motherland (Australia) for the first time in 12 years! That is a lot of years. I was pretty nervous to see how I would find it, and how it would find me.

It turns out we were the best of friends and it’s as if it we had never been a part. Although, I would regularly gasp and say things like,

‘Paddlepops, I remember Paddlepops!’ and,

‘The Crystal Car Wash Cafe! That still exists!?’ and,

‘Summer Rolls!! I forgot about them but I loved them so much!!’ (Summer Rolls are nougat, dipped in chocolate and rolled in coconut! I ate at least 27!)

Generally my nostalgia centered around food… that says a lot about me. But also returning to places, the smells, the faces, the hot air. I love it. It felt like home. It felt like me.

Turns out, I still call Australia home! I am saving up some lovely places, stories, memories and pictures for you all over the next few weeks so be excited. Very excited! Or be ready to be bored hearing about the ‘magic’ of Australia from me.

Anyway, back to the thing at hand.

Dear 2012,

thanks for giving me that time in Australia. Thanks for beautiful times with lovely friends old and new. Thanks for the time with people who know and love me, people who help remind me of who I am. Thanks for the hearing of music, live and recorded, that makes me feel a little more excited to be alive. Thanks for the chance to create, to make, to be inspired. Thanks for the times that have been minor therefore making the major all the brighter. Thanks for saying goodbye…

I look forward to meeting you 2013 and excited to bring you in with that beaut lady Sarah in her motherland of Northern Ireland. Woot!

Happy New Year!

– Celeste 

1 Comment

Filed under Celeste, Penny for your thoughts..

One response to “Penny for your thoughts: Goodbye 2012. Hello 2013.

Leave a Reply

