MAKE, DO, MEND: Bunting from old books

After 26 days far far away, the much missed Mr F returned home this weekend, and that, my friends, called for much joy and celebration in my heart and home!  No decent celebration is complete without bunting, right?

Alas, my sewing skills and forward planning have much to be desired, and I generally have an easier relationship with paper and pens than fabric and needles and so, when I finished work for the day on friday I set about making some bunting suitable to celebrate a homecoming.

I hunted around my house and found an aptly titled old penguin book called ‘Love and the English’, which I had picked up ages ago in Oxfam with the intent of doing a spot of crafting with it, and no better time than for the return of my english love!

With the help of some scissors and a sharpie I made and lettered little flags that have page heading such as ‘Beautiful, romantic animal’ !?! ‘Chicken, champagne and caresses’ &  ‘Conversation, courtship and chastity’ (kinda makes me wish I had read some of it!)

And hung it along some old ribbon, securing it with trusty gaffa ( I would have dearly loved some washi tape, but that would have required some forthought.. next time!)

Voila!

Perhaps, this might come in handy for those times when great celebration is called for, but time & pennies are not in abundance!

Over & Out

Sarah

Leave a comment

Filed under Craft, Decor/DIY, Make, Do, Mend, Sarah, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

