Make Do Mend: Herbert Hedgehog Cake

It’s been a week of Autumnal Make, Do, Mends this week at Tracks, Pumpkin Beer Keg (AMAZING), homemade granola (DELISH!) and here is another fun one!

My housemate Joseph turned 24 yesterday!

Happy Birthday Joseph!!! 

We celebrated with some tasty Indian … set menu for 4, more like set menu for 40, whiskey, cigars and James Bond. I decided after looking at a vintage party cookbook that I wanted to make him a hedgehog cake. This happened to be a very good idea because it seems I may have lost his birthday present so this could replace it. Maybe it’ll show up in time for next year?

So I managed for £7.40 (It was the day before payday… I had £8!) to create him this little treat and in 1 hour. I bought an own brand sponge mix 42p, Betty Crocker chocolate buttercream icing, chocolate buttons, white chocolate buttons and choc chips. It definitely was a ‘cheat’ but some days you don’t have enough time to make it all yourself. In imaginary land where I grow my own veggies, have chickens and always look pretty, I made this all from scratch but in real life it took me an hour.

I baked the sponge in a round cake tin. Cutting the sides and front like below. You could do choc sponge but I wagered it would be rich enough as it was so went with white.

Put icing on the top of the main body of the cake like glue to hold the sides on top to create the rounded shape of the hedgehog bod. Then, while snacking on the front bits, added butt loads of icing. You need enough to hold it in place and also enough so that chocolate buttons will stay when making the spikes. 

Using icing as glue again I added a choc chip to a white button for eyes. It looked like boobies. I chuckled and naturally instagrammed that.

Then it’s the fun bit, making Herbert look like himself. Sticking in buttons as spikes all around and adding the boobie eyes!

Herbert wishes you a happy birthday Joseph! 

– Celeste 

Leave a comment

Filed under Celeste, Food, Make, Do, Mend

Leave a Reply

