Found (again): My Bike Hercules

I’ve had this bicycle for many years now. I love it and I would quite happily never get a new one. However, for the past year it’s been buried under a variety of stuff in our shed. The reason being that the gears were broken and permanently stuck on the highest and the heaviest (needless to say it was not a graceful sight to behold when I was cycling uphill…) and it seemed to be a challenge to try to fix it. *

However, left with a few cuts and bruises my husband and a handy friend managed to restore at least two of the gears back into working order. Woop! Now I can resume riding this blue wonder around town with a smile on my face (and a deep burn in my thighs).

Hanna

*I am too much of a wuss to take it to a bike shop as I think they would laugh me and my granny bike out of the shop and make me buy a mountain bike.

4 Comments

Filed under Found Things..., Hanna

4 responses to “Found (again): My Bike Hercules

  1. time to take care of my rusty friend, who doesn’t even have any gears 😉 x

  2. Billiejean

    No way! They wouldn’t laugh at you- cruiser bikes are all the rage these days, and you have the real deal!

  3. Schronienie: Yes, do it!!! I say the older the better!

    Billiejean: Maybe I just need to pluck up the courage and go to a shop to get Herc fixed properly. I’m just a wuss. 🙂

  4. Lauren

    The guys at Addiktion Cycles are wonderful. They won’t laugh you out of the shop. In fact, they might even teach you some simple bike maintenance if you ask nicely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

