Days like these: When we celebrate all that is phenomenal about womanhood

DAYS LIKE THESE: Phenomenally woman

The three of us at tracks of foxes aim to share with you some crafty projects we’ve been putting our hands to, some adventures we’ve been spending our time on, we also thought we’d share with you some of the stuff that fills our stereos, book shelves, screens and tummy’s on emotional days, hope you might identify with some days like these.

Image

Pan Tol and daughter, Math Sreylen, southern Cambodia. Photo copyright Tearfund/Ralph Hodgson

Today, 8th March 2012 marks international womens day, which has been observed for over a centuary, serving to raise awareness and galvinise action for the equality and emancipation of women.  We enjoy much more liberty than our great granmothers thanks to the women who have gone before us ensuring our future is bright and full of opportunity.  So on a day like this we celebrate women, the achievement and brilliance of the sisterhood, and are also mindful the unfortunate fact is that women are still not paid equally to that of their male counterparts, women still are not present in equal numbers in business or politics, and globally women’s education, health and the violence against them is worse than that of men. (Preach over..) So today, lets here it for the girls!

Listen:

a little selection of the best women songwriters singing about love, loss, anger, liberty, montherhood, beauty, faith, weakness & strength

Ani DiFranco: Sorry I am

Emmylou Harris & Lucinda Williams: Greenville

Lauren Hill: Zion

India Arie; Beautiful

Cat Power: Hate

Melissa Etheridge: The weakness in me

Erykah Badu: The Healer.

Watch;

“Amelia” A look at the life of legendary American pilot Amelia Earhart, and directed by the amazing Mira Nair…

Read: 

Phenomenal Woman

BY MAYA ANGELOU

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.
I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size
But when I start to tell them,
They think I’m telling lies.
I say,
It’s in the reach of my arms,
The span of my hips,
The stride of my step,
The curl of my lips.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.
I walk into a room
Just as cool as you please,
And to a man,
The fellows stand or
Fall down on their knees.
Then they swarm around me,
A hive of honey bees.
I say,
It’s the fire in my eyes,
And the flash of my teeth,
The swing in my waist,
And the joy in my feet.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.
Men themselves have wondered
What they see in me.
They try so much
But they can’t touch
My inner mystery.
When I try to show them,
They say they still can’t see.
I say,
It’s in the arch of my back,
The sun of my smile,
The ride of my breasts,
The grace of my style.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.
Now you understand
Just why my head’s not bowed.
I don’t shout or jump about
Or have to talk real loud.
When you see me passing,
It ought to make you proud.
I say,
It’s in the click of my heels,
The bend of my hair,
the palm of my hand,
The need for my care.
’Cause I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.
Share:
Here is a video to watch, share and generate action for all women, that will ensure a bright future for our daughters and granddaughters because although a celebration today is also a rallying cry. It’s a time to ask ourselves big, important questions about how a woman’s life really compares to that of a man’s. And not just here; but all around the world. Because although impressive life-changing advances have been made since that momentous day in 1911, there’s still quite a way to go.
2 Comments

Filed under Days like these ..., Films, Music, Sarah

2 responses to “Days like these: When we celebrate all that is phenomenal about womanhood

  1. What a profound, brilliant and creative post. Thanks

Leave a Reply

